Skip to content

Lisette Continental Dress – A Sew Along with CurlyPops and other clever bloggers

March 26, 2012

When CurlyPops announced the SewAlong, I really wanted to join in. But I’m not so sure the Lisette Dress would suit me. For one, I’m a bit busty and I would worry about how those gathers would emphasise that. Secondly, I NEVER show my arms. The Lisette Continental Dress is sleeveless and the world doesn’t need to see my upper arms. Ms CurlyPops encouraged me and said she’d seen some versions as a tunic style with a long sleeve t-shirt underneath it. I may make it for me but first I made it for my Middle Kid. Her upper arms are perfectly lovely, as is the rest of her.

Here is a close up of the print, which her Dad chose for her (at Spotlight, he begrudgingly takes me and always finds lovely fabric to suit the girls in our house).

Go to MsCurlyPops and have a look at the other Lisette Sew Along participants. She has listed all the finished dresses on the side of her blog.


Edited to add: The measurements I took said to make a size 14.  Next time I will go for the size 12 for the Middle Kid, it’s quite loose (as is the style) and I also knew from other sew-along participants that the underarm area was a bit gapey, so I took those areas in using my “hack it and hope for the best” technique!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2012 8:48 am

    I love that you’ve used such a totally unexpected fabric (I have some of that same fabric in my stash) and that you got the whole family involved. It’s so darn cute with the hat and the tights and a cardi!
    Thankyou so much for joining in with the fun!

  2. Sue permalink
    March 27, 2012 12:41 pm

    not that I am a biased Aunty or anything but that middle kid is the bees knees!! and that dress suits her to a T – it looks very nice – aren’t you the clever clogs – well done!

  3. kylie permalink
    March 27, 2012 6:01 pm

    That dress is gorgeous! I love the fabric and the style! Well done!

  4. March 31, 2012 12:33 pm

    Brilliant. I love it. Looks so fantastic. You’re husband has great taste in fabric. Bravo!!!

  5. March 31, 2012 1:27 pm

    I love that ol’ fall-back: Hack It and Hope For the Best. You’ve done a fabulous job. Very middle-kid snazzy…

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

